14
Nov
10

Skirting the issue

Rachel’s gown included a skirt with four layers in all – the Dupioni over skirt, ivory tulle over satin for the under skirt, and of course lining. I had to sew the tulle layer twice; my iron has a Teflon shoe and so it does not melt fabrics, which unfortunately allowed me to neglect to turn the temperature down low enough for the delicate tulle fabric. It didn’t melt, but it shrank badly the first time. I didn’t notice my mistake until I’d sewn the entire tulle layer, pinned it to the satin, and realized it was a good six inches shorter than the satin layer! Thankfully I buy tulle by the bolt and had plenty on hand to correct my error quickly, without any delays to Rachel.

Aside from that sewing up the skirt went beautifully and and without much to comment on; we’d pretty well perfected the shape and fit in our muslin fittings. I basted the bodice to the skirts and let Rachel know we were ready for a fitting … in her *actual* gown! Stay tuned for more. 🙂

3 Responses to “Skirting the issue”


  1. 1 Emily
    November 15, 2010 at 5:52 pm

    Oh wow, that looks fabulous. Can’t wait to see the end product. Out of curiosity, have you ever considered kimono?

  2. 2 goffcouture
    November 15, 2010 at 6:30 pm

    Sewing one, or wearing one? 😉 I don’t have any experience sewing kimonos but I’m generally open to learning something new!

    • 3 Emily
      November 16, 2010 at 12:20 am

      Yeah with the sewing. Depending on how badly I suck at it when I get around to trying to make a set, I might be giving you a ring.


Leave a Reply

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Blog Stats

  • 31,713 hits

Top Posts


