06
Jun
09

Custom plus sized dress

I have a lot of sympathy for people who can’t find clothes to fit them – or can’t find the clothes they WANT to fit them. I’m always thrilled when I’m able to help someone achieve a vision for the garment they want in fabric they love and a size that *fits!*

se-custom-sundressThe dress here was a custom request from a plus sized woman who wanted a simple, casual, comfortable maxi dress to wear this summer. She told me she wanted a soft, comfortable, slightly stretchy fabric and my mind immediately went to the soft poly stretch knit I’d used when I made my pj’s a few months back. I sent her a swatch from the scraps I had leftover and she agreed it was a perfect fit! (Though she chose a different color).

I drafted the pattern by hand using the measurements she’d send me and went to work. When I was finished the dress looked great and I shipped it out! Unfortunately when my client got the dress it was a bit large in a few places – the fabric had more stretch than I had accounted for. This is one of the perils that I occasionally face in working with long distance clients, where I’m not able to do a fitting in person. I let her know I’d be happy to alter the dress as needed; she sent me a few photos, pinned the dress where it needed to be taken in, and she shipped it back to me to take in the straps and bodice a bit. Despite the delays we ended with a beautiful dress and a great fit!

0 Responses to “Custom plus sized dress”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Blog Stats

  • 31,580 hits

