27
Dec
08

Princess Lily

Every little girl deserves to feel like a princess now and then. So, for Christmas this year, I custom made a lovely little Princess Dress for my cousin’s 4 year old daughter Lily.

princess1princess2

Unlike most of the previous custom projects I’ve done, I had no opportunity to fit Lily in her dress, or even to take her measurements – this was supposed to be a surprise after all! To determine how large to draft the pattern and make the dress, I searched for toddler growth charts online. I know Lily is a little taller and a little more slender than most girls her age, and I planned to make the dress just a bit on the large size for  her so she can wear it for a while. And fortunately the result is a dress that fits great and should continue to fit for at least the year!

princess3The design was a lot of fun. With no specific requirements in place, I was able to really leave it all up to my imagination! I sorted through my drawers of fabric remnants and paired up different colors to ultimately choose the pink and gold that are lovely on Lily’s complexion. I browsed the aisles at JoAnn’s to pick out ribbons, beaded trim and satin bows to embellish the dress. And I bought yards and yards of baby pink tulle to make a layered, ruffled petticoat so the dress would have a nice full skirt!

princess4I made it up as I went along, holding pieces of trim up to the bodice first one way, then another, until I was happy with the result. Even I didn’t really know what the dress would look like until it was nearly complete. I don’t normally allow myself such a fluid creative process, and it was very enjoyable!

A very Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays to you all!

2 Responses to “Princess Lily”


  1. December 28, 2008 at 9:23 am

    Oh wow. It’s gorgeous! As always, you did an amazing job. You do realize that a dress of that caliber would be $100 or more, right? The mass-produced nice ones at the Disney Store are $80, and they’re not even handmade.

  2. 2 3blessings
    December 30, 2008 at 4:20 pm

    It’s beautiful! You are so talented and creative 🙂


Leave a Reply

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 31,713 hits

Top Posts


