16
Nov
08

Jammies

Well after a long and wonderful but exhausting process sewing Bonnie’s gold dress, and before plunging headfirst into the next BIG project with a quick deadline that I have pending, I thought it was high time I spent a few hours sewing for myself again! I have been in dire need of a new set of warm weather pajamas for a long time now (my previous set were over 5 years old, very worn, and just generally in need of replacing). And recently, I found the PERFECT super soft poly/cotton/lycra knit fabric that is sooooooooo comfortable and a gorgeous color to boot. So, it was time!

I traced out the bottoms of my old PJ’s, and a well fitting tank top, to make the pattern for these new pajamas, and they sewed up relatively quickly! I hand dyed the foldover elastic I used for the arm and neck holes, but the color didn’t come out quite as I’d hoped – the result of buying dye without a fabric swatch on hand and just guessing about what would match. I’m happy enough with the contrast though.

I also need a new sleep bra and figured it would be great to have it match the pj’s, so I’m working on that now (although it is sitting to the side as a couple of other higher priority items cut in line). I’m making the bra with no underwire, and I took in the cups a bit from my normal pattern, since this fabric has a lot more stretch than what I use for my day bras. I’m also planning to make the straps a fixed length rather than adjustable. For night wear, I care more about comfort and less about support so I’d rather not have the little plastic bits poking me in my sleep. Hopefully the result will be as cute and comfortable as I expect. In the meantime, enjoy a pic of the jammies only!

myjammies

Good night!

4 Responses to “Jammies”


  1. November 16, 2008 at 6:23 pm

    You’re right, it was high time for something for you! Great job, as always.

  2. 2 summersadie
    November 16, 2008 at 10:05 pm

    So cute. I really like the way the elastic looks with the top. I admire those of you who can sew clothes.

  3. November 17, 2008 at 12:56 am

    they are gorgeous!

    what’s a sleep bra?

  4. 4 3blessings
    November 25, 2008 at 5:12 pm

    I’m laughing that these are your warm weather jammies 😉 My warm weather ones cover me from neck to toes and are either fleece or flannel lol!

    They are gorgeous BTW.


Leave a Reply

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Blog Stats

  • 31,738 hits

Top Posts


