07
Nov
08

Tag – you’re it!

I confess I was tagged over a month ago by Glass of Fashion, but I’m only just now getting around to writing up the resulting post. My apologies for the delay! Hopefully the upcoming photos of Aunt Bonnie’s gold gown will be treat enough to compensate for the long wait. 🙂

So then, I’ve been asked to write 6 Random things about myself.

1. I once visited Colombia solely for the stamp in my passport. My friend and I were exchange students in Ecuador at the time, and she (who had never gotten around to obtaining a student visa) had to leave b/c her tourist visa had expired the second time (no third extensions allowed) a week before classes were to end. Colombia was closer than Peru, so we took a weekend trip north, got our stamps, and she was able to complete the semester legally.

2. I’m a second generation home-birther. My mom had all three of her kids at home, and when I married my husband I found that his aunt is a midwife. Match made in heaven.

3. I find it a chore to hem a simple pair of pants, but I’ll spend endless hours hand beading a gown or meticulously sewing a bra with a narrow 1/8″ seam, just as long as the FABRIC is PRETTY. Satin and silk and chiffon just make me happy. Very, very happy.

4. I can’t stand the heat (and, funny enough, that is the ONE reason that at a early age I ruled out “chef” as a possible dream job). I have literally stood outdoors in a mild little snow flurry wearing a T shirt and been perfectly comfortable. But I live in Florida, where we have roughly 2.5 days of winter each year. And about 340 days of heat so blistering you sweat just walking out to your car. *sigh*

5. I was married on the beach, at sunrise, despite the large number of people who tried to talk me out of the idea. It was absolutely breathtaking, and there were moments that I actually forgot that there were other people there besides my husband and me. I am still that crazy in love, too.

6. I spent many, many years making pies with frozen crusts. *shakes head* Then I read a painstakingly detailed recipe for pie crust in the book The Man Who Ate Everything, gave it a go, and I will never, ever, ever go back. There is no comparison. None.

Here are the rules now for this Meme:

Link to the person who tagged you.
Post the rules on your blog.
Write six random things about yourself.
Tag 6-10 people at the end of your post.
Let each person know that they have been tagged by leaving a comment on their blog.
Let the tagger know your entry is up.

I’m tagging a couple of friends: ItsNotMurray and MyGeekyHusband as well as some fellow sew-ers who I don’t know as well but would enjoy knowing better, KissMyStitch and WhistlepeaKnits.

2 Responses to “Tag – you’re it!”


  1. November 7, 2008 at 10:04 pm

    These are always fun to read! Thanks for playing along. That’s cool about your weekend trip to Colombia. I was pleased with myself for already knowing 4 of your 6 random facts. 🙂

  2. 2 glassoffashion
    November 11, 2008 at 8:26 am

    Wow- good job 🙂

    Your wedding sounds like it was absolutely beautiful…


Leave a Reply

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Blog Stats

  • 31,738 hits

Top Posts


