30
Aug
08

Flutter Sleeves

My mom requested “a nice black top” to accompany a skirt I plan to make for her soon. Since I had fabric on hand and a good base pattern for a shirt to fit her (and did not yet have the waist and hip measurements I needed to draft her skirt pattern) the top came first.

This is the same pattern I’ve used for the last four shirts for her, in a sleek black 4-way stretch fabric. Flutter sleeves seemed right for the top to match the upcoming skirt… but I have never made them before, or seen what patterns for flutter sleeves look like. Couldn’t find it online anywhere either. So, I guessed! Just tried to picture in my head what it would look like to unwrap that three dimensional shape into the two dimensional fabric piece that would be needed… and it turned out fairly well, don’t you think? (Although not quite perfect).

No beads on this one – I glued sizable rhinestones all along the neckline for some bling! Mom’s pleased and plans to wear it out soon.

0 Responses to “Flutter Sleeves”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 31,580 hits

