24
Jun
08

Where style and a lack of pain meet

This summer’s swimsuit came courtesy of Target for a nice affordable price and minimal time and effort devoted to finding it.  It’s a one piece suit with a little skirt at the bottom and came with a halter tie at the top.  It was cheap and about as flattering as I can hope to expect from off the rack spandex.  🙂

BUT it was uncomfortable.  Halter tie swimsuits are a bit of torture for me, since they demand that the entire weight of my bosom hang precariously from strands knotted right at the nape of my neck.  The weight pressing on that tiny spot almost always leads to headaches.  Especially when you add the almost inevitable ingredients of glaring sunshine, chlorine fumes, and possibly dehydration.

Rather than accept a summertime of headaches by the pool, I decided to take a hint from Eva’s swimsuit and convert the halter tie to a criss cross style strap.  This way, the weight is distributed over my shoulders (which are better designed to carry weight than my neck is!) and as a bonus it keeps the elastic at the back of my suit from scrunching down.  DH helped me mark the suit where I wanted to attach the straps, and then it took just a few minutes to stitch them down.

We’ve gone to the pool a couple of times since I made this easy alteration and I’m happy to say I’m headache free and my suit has stayed securely in place.  I don’t care if it’s a more juvenile style, this is a better approach for us big busted gals and I will likely do this again in the future.

Happy sewing – and swimming – to you all!

1 Response to “Where style and a lack of pain meet”


  1. 1 Laura
    July 23, 2008 at 4:46 pm

    Very cleaver! So if they are crossed and sewed down in the back, do they unhook somehow in the front to get it on and off? I’m thinking I might just try this same idea, but I’m trying to work out the logistics.

    Miss you girlfriend!


Leave a Reply

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Blog Stats

  • 31,635 hits

Top Posts


