11
Jun
08

Birth Announcement

After work today I went out to the back yard for my daily blackberry harvest from the wild bramble growing in the nature preserve behind our house.  I’ve been picking them daily and saving the extras in the freezer until we have enough for a pie.  Today, I found something new!

A whole section of dirt was upturned, and as I stepped closer, I could see leathery pieces of eggshells strewn around the a couple of shallow holes in the dirt and scattered through the long grasses.  This area is only four feet or so from the bank of a small natural lake, and I’m pretty sure we had turtle babies!  (I thought maybe alligators, but after looking at pictures online I think the shells more closely resemble photos I found of turtle eggs). The ground was undisturbed as of yesterday so I think the little guys hatched just last night!

I have walked right over this spot a couple of times before; I’m glad to see I didn’t hurt anyone in the process.  Happy birthday turtles (or whatever you were)!

0 Responses to “Birth Announcement”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Blog Stats

  • 31,713 hits

Top Posts


