10
Jun
08

Foot loose and pattern free

One of the fabrics I bought on clearance was a black rib knit that had a bit of stretch and looked dressy enough to wear to work.  I have a favorite black V neck shirt in a slinky fabric that I have been wearing for the past 8 years (through an insane range of weights and right up to 41.5 weeks of pregnancy) but it’s long sleeved and just too hot for the crazy Florida summer.  So I thought my new black fabric would be ideal to make a short sleeved alternative.

I didn’t have a commercial pattern for what I wanted, so I just used a V neck T to make one, by tracing the shape of it onto pattern tracing paper.  This was my first attempt making a pattern using an existing garment without taking the existing garment apart.  It went very well on the whole, but the sleeves are a bit tight so if I make this again, I’ll cut a larger armscrye and make a roomier sleeve.

I’m pleased overall with the shape and fit:

But the collar is driving me nuts!  I sewed it on three times and still can’t get one section to lie flat.  So I get a funny little vertical bulge towards the bottom of the V:

Even so I’m pleased on the whole and I’ll probably use this “pattern” again.  The shirt is comfortable and cool, and only cost me about $3.

2 Responses to “Foot loose and pattern free”


  1. 1 itsnotmurray
    June 11, 2008 at 6:51 pm

    I think it looks great, Sarah! who else do you know whho can simply make something that is wearable without looking HOmemade?? Looks great to me!

  2. 2 goffcouture
    June 11, 2008 at 9:44 pm

    Well YOU for one! But thanks, I appreciate it!


Leave a Reply

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Blog Stats

  • 31,738 hits

Top Posts


