05
Jun
08

What a fabric-y day!

I’m sorry I’ve posted so infrequently this week.  Work has been busy, home has been busy, and my sewing attempts have not been photograph worthy.  On Monday I stayed up until 1:30 a.m. working on Shawn’s shirt, only to discovered that I *hadn’t* solved the crooked-button-flap issue, I had just sewn the thing off center on the opposite side!  Aaaaaaaaargh!  And of course with a slit cut down the front of the shirt I couldn’t just unstitch and resew, I needed at least enough new fabric to replace the shirt front.  Very, very frustrating.

But we move on.  Yesterday was a fabulous day!  I received lots and lots of fabric, which is delightful and definitely photograph worthy.  First off, I found the time to head to the fabric store and pick up more fabric for Shawn’s shirt.  I also got far enough last evening to confirm for once and for all that I have finally figured out that darned button and collar issue, and I have a nice, not crooked shirt front to work with.  I hope to finish his shirt today and post completed pictures soon.

I also received a package in the mail of fabrics I’d picked up on clearance at fabric.com.  It was 30% off the clearance goodies, so I got these three fabrics for something like $1.37/yard (plus shipping).  I plan to make a little nightie out of the pink lace, a dress out of the fruit print fabric, and I haven’t decided about the other lace (which the website said was lavender, but I think looks far bluer, decidedly periwinkle).

Last but not least, I recently won a giveaway from a fellow blogger, and the following stash from her arrived yesterday too.  Thanks, Diane!  My husband is *especially* excited about the cookbook.  I haven’t yet decided what I’ll do with the fat quarters she sent but I’m sure I’ll think of something.
Well, it’s time for Shawn to get a turn with the computer, and I should really get back to sewing.  I’m thoroughly enjoying my day off so far.  No errands, no guests, no hospital trips.  Just peace and quiet and a sewing day at home.

1 Response to “What a fabric-y day!”


  1. 1 2fun4u
    June 5, 2008 at 10:50 pm

    I hope you both enjoy that cook book as much as I do!!!! And the fabric, make your DD a little ruffled summer skirt.
    When I went out and bought the fabric, I did wonder to myself, why did I add quilting extra’s when I don’t quilt very much. I guess I just had a moment. lol!!
    Next time I will add fashion sewing extra’s.

    Have a Fabulous Day.

    Diane


Leave a Reply

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Blog Stats

  • 31,580 hits

