27
May
08

A shirt for my sweetie

I don’t remember exactly when my husband first asked me to make him this shirt, but I’m sure it was over a year ago… probably around that time that I was just LOOKING for projects to work on, any excuse to spend as much time as possible in that gorgeous sewing room he’d prepared for me.  You’d think that after he had gone to such fabulous lengths to make me happy, I could have done the same in far less time than I’ve taken.

You’d think.

In my defense, there are a NUMBER of reasons why I have procrastinated as long as I have.  Let me start by explaining just exactly what he requested: a Star Trek shirt.  But not anything too obvious, something subtle, like his “Know Your Roots” Nintendo shirt.  Something where only a fellow nerd would get it.  He wanted a polo shirt, red across the chest with black over the shoulders, in a quasi TND uniform style.  (Never mind that my beloved is an engineer… we both agreed he looks better in red than yellow).  I am less than thrilled with this project, for several reasons:

1. I am not a diehard Trekkie.  I like Star Trek.  I grew up watching The Next Generation and I’ve watched every single episode.  I always thought it was pretty when they opened up Data’s head.  Deanna Troi all but epitomised womanhood.  I liked Riker better without the beard when I was a girl (though I’m quite fond of facial hair now).  And, I’m absolutely mortified to admit, I did have a childhood crush on Wesley (although I swear, I swear, I swear it was just because he was the only male character on the show NOT old enough to be my father…. or in Picard’s case, my grandfather).  All of this said, I draw the line at WANTING TO DRESS UP like one of the characters.  And this teensy little part of me that is not *quite* as nerdy as my husband sort of has to cringe at the thought, even though his nerdiness is honestly one of the things I love most about him.  You want to wear what?  In public?  Ahem.

2. Men’s fashion bores me.  I have not yet ventured into the world of men’s fashion.  Women’s clothes have far more variety, in styles, cuts, fabrics, and just the sheer number of garments to choose from.  Men have: short pants, long pants, short sleeved shirt, long sleeved shirt, and possibly a jacket.  Within this narrow selection, there are fewer styles of tailoring and shaping the clothes, and fewer fabric selections.  Which is mostly because men don’t generally have curves they are trying to show off (or, in some cases, hide) and so it all gets to be much simpler.  But it’s also… just less interesting to me.

3. I wasn’t sure how I was going to make it work.  I scoured the fabric stores and the web to find a men’s polo shirt pattern (because of course I’ve never made a polo shirt before) and then wondered how on earth I was going to get a perfectly lined up straight line where the red and black meet, when this is going to have to extend onto the sleeves?  I’ve pondered this a great deal (over my year and then some of procrastinating) and am of the firm opinion that there is no other way than to make a muslin, draw the line where red should meet black, rip the seams out, cut along said line, and add seam allowances when I cut my real fabric.  Which solves the “how to” problem, but also requires that I sew a garment I’m not thrilled about sewing in the first place, twice.

But, while I don’t particularly care to dress up like a Star Trek character myself, and while men’s clothes fail to inspire men, and while the shirt poses a few practical challenges, I remain madly in love with my husband.  And this is the only thing he has ever asked me to sew for him.  (Well, that and getting around to hemming the curtains in our bedroom…)  He set up my breathtaking sewing room for me, and he keeps Eva occupied while I sew (when she’s not “helping” me at least) and he puts up with me pausing our TV shows to run upstairs “for just a minute” countless times each evening.  And this is just his support of my sewing, not to mention everything ELSE he does for me on a daily basis.  He really does deserve his shirt.

I’ve started cutting pattern pieces.  I’ll try to whip up a muslin tonight.  I will post more on the subject soon.

3 Responses to “A shirt for my sweetie”


  1. 1 itsnotmurray
    May 27, 2008 at 4:36 pm

    Troi WHAT?!?! ew ew ew ew ew ew ew she was a joke, a way to show boobies on the show for ratings. No acting skills, ugly, lame ass character….ugh! if someone wasn’t at my doo right now… I’d have more to say sheesh.

  2. 2 itsnotmurray
    May 27, 2008 at 4:38 pm

    FYI: I might start with pajamas. OMG I have to go to the store now.

  3. 3 goffcouture
    May 27, 2008 at 5:17 pm

    Troi looks a LOT like my Mom did (when she had long dark curly hair), so I’ll thank you to keep your “ugly” comments to yourself.


Leave a Reply

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 31,589 hits

