20
May
08

A little more than they came to see

I made a bit more progress on the dress yesterday; cutting out the fabric for the outer dress and beginning to sew it all together.  I also, on a whim, took the two chiffon skirt layers and pinned them up to the dress form to assess what the finished dress will look like.  Unless I add another layer, it will be see through (which might not be entirely appropriate for Bonnie to wear to public performances!).

Chiffon is a sheer fabric, and I knew this, but I had expected that the lining underneath would provide enough coverage.  With the fabric layers all draped over my cutting table, it looked like I was right.  But, hanging on the dress form where the light can shine from behind, it’s clear that the lining is not sufficient, so tomorrow I’ll hit the fabric store for a little more satin and put a layer of satin beneath the chiffon.

In the meanwhile, I have the bodice pieces sewn together and I’ll spend this evening hand sewing the bra cups in place.

4 Responses to “A little more than they came to see”


  1. 1 itsnotmurray
    May 21, 2008 at 9:11 pm

    can’t she just wear a slip?

    BRAINSTORM: learn to make lingerie!!!

  2. 2 goffcouture
    May 21, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    Lingerie is DEFINITELY in the future!!

    I don’t know whether a slip would work here or not. I tried holding up extra layers of lining, and it’s still too see through (you can’t see *everything* but the color is different where there’s skin versus not). A colored slip would SHOW and a white slip might still be too sheer…? In any event, I have already bought the extra satin and I’m mere moments away from cutting it.

    But yes, lingerie is DEFINITELY in my future. (And not too many new techniques would be needed at this point).

  3. 3 itsnotmurray
    May 22, 2008 at 3:13 pm

    🙂 I’ve been playing with the idea of creating high end maternity lingerie, since it doen’t really exist out there. The techniques are the same as heirloom sewing, from what I have seen and done.

  4. 4 goffcouture
    May 22, 2008 at 4:30 pm

    Oh that’s a great idea! And I’m sure YOU would have no problem finding clientelle, since you already work with pregnant gals.


Leave a Reply

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 31,589 hits

