17
May
08

Progress Report

Bonnie came over Thursday afternoon to try on the test corset.  It looks like a pretty much perfect fit!  I also showed her the skirt muslin and we talked about the design a little bit more; and I have a green light to continue as planned, no further modifications needed.  Hooray!

This has taken less time and tweaking than the first dress, which makes sense since it’s the second time I’ve sewn for my aunt Bonnie, and a bit more aware of the details to fitting for her.  It’s very nice to spend less time on the pattern and get to move on to the dress!

So, Thursday afternoon and Friday morning (my days off, by the way) I got to work on the actual fabric.  All that had arrived so far was the chiffon and the fabric lining.  I didn’t even have my nice quality thread to sew with.  I cut every single piece of lining and chiffon I would need, and pinned them all together, and had them waiting in a pile.

Finally, Friday afternoon a box with all my remaining items from JoAnn’s arrived (hooray!) and I was off in a frenzy sewing and serging and ironing.  I’ve made splendid progress.  All three layers of the skirt are sewn together, and the lining for the corset and bodice is all sewn.  I’ve also cut and pinned the first of 2 layers of satin for the corset and bodice, and will hopefully have time to sew that together this evening.

No photos yet… nothing was really to a point where I could put it up on the dress form.  But I’ll take some in the next day or two I’m sure.


3 Responses to “Progress Report”


  1. May 17, 2008 at 11:41 am

    Where’s the pics of your work. It would be a worthwhile venture to see wome more pages. Thanks for the post thopugh, rather interesting.

  2. 2 goffcouture
    May 17, 2008 at 11:58 am

    There are several photos in my previous posts. As I said above, I don’t have any photos of the white dress in its current state, but will take some once it’s further along.

  3. 3 itsnotmurray
    May 18, 2008 at 3:40 pm

    yay! I’m sure it’ll be beautiful!


Leave a comment


May 2008
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 33,613 hits

Top Posts