11
May
08

Garden Plans

I mentioned a few posts ago that we’re talking about planting a veggie garden in the near future.  Plans are starting to take shape now.  We’re thinking of putting in a small bed right behind our lanai (screened porch for you non-Floridians).  This is a photo of the back of our home.  The lanai is a little over 12′ wide, and the home extends another 4′ out past that.  We’re planning on a 12′ by 8′ bed that sticks out a bit further than the house, which would give us enough space to get a few things growing.  It’s going to be a fair amount of work to dig up the existing lawn, and we hope to run some drip irrigation and tie it into the existing sprinkler system (so I can be a lazy gardner going forward, and also because driplines are more efficient with less water evaporating).  It means a lot of digging, a trip to the hardware store, and some help from my hubby just to get a little patch of dirt ready.  Still not sure we’ll do it just yet… all of that sounds like it would be more pleasant in cooler weather!

 In the meantime, I’m starting some herbs from seeds in pots.  We’ll keep those on the porch in the hottest months and I will make GOOD use of them in our kitchen!  I potted the seeds just a few days ago, on Tuesday, and you can see the basil is already sprouting!  Also, I potted some calabaza seeds (a Latin American squash that’s almost like a cross between a pumpkin and a butternut squash) and they have taken off as well.  If we get the bed ready, they’ll go in the ground as they are one of the few things that can tolerate the coming months.  No chance they’ll grow to size in these little pots! 

 

I’ve ordered all the fabric for Bonnie’s next dress, and I know I still haven’t posted my plans for it.  I will make an effort to do so soon.  I think I’m going to have to photograph my sketches and I don’t know how well that will turn out.  We’ll see.

Alright, that’s all for now.  Happy Mother’s Day everyone!

1 Response to “Garden Plans”


  1. May 11, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    Thank you for the “lanai” defintion… I’ve been wondering ever since an old episode of the “Golden Girls” what that meant! (I’m a NY’er)


Leave a Reply

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 31,706 hits

Top Posts


