04
May
08

Purplelicious

Since Bonnie’s dress is finished now, I decided to clean my sewing room (always a substantial effort by the time I complete a project, since thread and fabric scraps and pins get littered everywhere during the creative process).  And since it is so very pretty and clean, this seems like a great time to show you where I sew.

I am very, very grateful to have such a nice space to work in.  We bought our home a year and a half ago, knowing it was larger than we absolutely needed at the time.  But, since we plan to have more children in the future, it seemed to make more sense to buy a little bigger than we needed, rather than a little smaller (we’d outgrown our apartment LONG before we were able to leave it, and wanted to avoid experiencing this again).  So, until Baby #2 comes along, I have an entire bedroom dedicated to my sewing!  And guests.  It’s the guest room too.  (Soon enough it will have just one bed instead of the two here; one of them is going to be Eva’s once we return the toddler bed she’s been borrowing from her younger cousin who is ready for it now).

The room has adequate floor space for me to cut fabric out, a bright window, and a nice large closet which gives me plenty of storage.  I also have a small dresser which I use to keep:

Assorted notions.
All my patterns – every commercial pattern I’ve bought, plus all my altered versions, stored in labelled plastic bags.
Two drawers full of fabric scraps (and there’s plenty more in the closet).

For a while, I really didn’t think I was going to have a sewing room as fabulous as this.  We were blessed to be able to build our first home and the whole time that it was under construction we planned just exactly how we were going to decorate.  And since paint is one of the easiest and most affordable ways to really change the feel of a space, we planned to paint pretty much everywhere.  The day we closed on the house, we dropped Eva off with my mother-in-law and we stayed there until 4:30 a.m. painting the dining room and great room, with a burgandy faux finish from the floor to where we will eventually install a chair rail (hasn’t happened yet mind you).  Then, after we moved in, I spent WEEKS painstakingly sketching and hand painting a mural on Eva’s bedroom walls.  By the time that all of this was finished, I was too!  No more paint for me.

Seriously, working on the above rooms had just taken too long.  I was tired of looking at paint, tired of taping down plastic sheets, tired of picking dried paint goobers from my fingernails and hair.  I’d planned to paint my sewing room lavender, and decorate it with chic black and white photos of Eva and Shawn, and eventually sew some sheer white curtains for the window.  But, exhausted, I decided it was too much work and a waste of time when the room will be converted to a nursery and handed over to a baby in a few short years.

So, my dear, wonderful husband, gave me this for Christmas.  He went out on his own, picked the paint, brought it home, and painted it in secret (“Don’t go in your sewing room for a few days; I’m storing your Christmas present in there”).  He picked up the 6′ folding table, given to us by his stepfather, and bought a lovely tablecloth to cover it.  He unpacked my sewing machine and set it up, unpacked my dress form, and arranged the room beautifully.  He selected, printed, and matted a whole series of photos for the walls, boxed them, and wrapped it for me to open Christmas morning.  And after I had done so, he lead me upstairs to see this beautiful finished space, all ready for me.

I was just amazed! I spent a good hour just sitting in there, basking in the beauty of it, while my Christmas guests entertained themselves downstairs.  Shawn asked me if I liked the color he’d picked.  “Oh yes,” I told him, “it’s just exactly the shade I would have chosen.”

He grinned from ear to ear, and told me one of the most fabulous things he’s ever said.  “I’m so glad.  I really wanted to use this color, because the name was Purplelicious.”

You’ve just gotta love a man who wanted to paint me a Purplelicious sewing room.

3 Responses to “Purplelicious”


  1. May 4, 2008 at 4:20 pm

    That is an awesome present!

  2. 2 goffcouture
    May 4, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    Thanks! I wholeheartedly agree!


Leave a Reply

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 31,738 hits

Top Posts


