27
Apr
08

Just one fitting and a few frenzied hours from completion

My hook and eye tape arrived in the mail yesterday – hooray!  Huge thanks to ebay seller bridcishop for a very quick turnaround on my order.  🙂

So, it only took about an hour yesterday to sew the hook and eye tape into the dress foundation, and to sew the foundation into the dress.  The only steps remaining are to hem the skirt, and to hand sew hooks and eyes to the neck strap and above the zipper.  Bonnie will be over in the very near future to try the dress on so I can mark the hem and neck strap accordingly.

After some debate, I ended up deciding to make the dress foundation per the pattern instructions because there was a whole chain reaction if I started changing things.  I had my doubts about plastic boning and fabric lining providing adequate support.  But if I switched to steel boning, then I really did need to upgrade to heavier fabric, and then we were looking at something that would be quite a bit heavier, which seemed less than ideal for a dress that is going to be worn for outdoor performances in the summertime in Florida.  So I followed the directions, and I must say I’m pleasantly surprised!  It looks (on the dress form anyway) like this will actually provide enough support.  Our fitting will tell if this is true.

In the meantime, I thought I’d post a few more quick pics.  I’m very pleased with the drape, and with the shape of the bodice now that the neckline is finished!

3 Responses to “Just one fitting and a few frenzied hours from completion”


  1. 1 Granti
    April 29, 2008 at 1:10 pm

    Hi Sarah!

    Nice blog, very well written and interesting. I’m lovin’ that dress! Can’t wait to try it on for the masses!

    Granti/Aunt Bonnie

  2. 2 suzanne
    April 30, 2008 at 10:32 pm

    Hey girly! Bonnie mentioned today that she knows people will be asking her “who she’s wearing” and she’s sticking to original Sarah Goffs. Love the blog. Great picture of the fish-hooked pin too!

  3. 3 goffcouture
    April 30, 2008 at 10:49 pm

    I’m going with Goff Couture. 🙂 I have cards, and someday before too long I’ll have an actual logo and even clothing tags. Just not quite there yet.


Leave a Reply

April 2008
M T W T F S S
    May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Blog Stats

  • 31,713 hits

Top Posts


