20
Apr
08

My torrid affair

This morning my wonderful, loving husband told me he misses me.  It wasn’t to make me feel guilty, or to demand that I lay off the sewing for a while, just a simple honest expression of his appreciation for quality time together.  The past couple of evenings, I’ve spent too much time sequestered in my sewing room, stitching and serging like mad.  The time I’ve spent downstairs with him has largely been while I’ve cut and pinned fabric, or written here in my blog.  This morning, I got in a quick seam before work too!  In actual fact, I miss him too.  And yet my mind continues to drift to the dress (and to many possible future projects as well).

I remember that when I was nearly finished sewing my mother in law’s second ballgown, I took a moment to thank my husband for his patience with me, his time spent caring for our daughter and just generally accepting the fact that I was spending hours I didn’t have working on the dress.  I told him “I’m almost finished, and then it will go back to normal.”  He looked at me, laughed, and said, “No it won’t.  You’ll just be obsessing about something else to sew!”

I find myself thinking about sewing while I lie in bed, trying to fall asleep.  I picture the next several steps, practice them in my mind before I have the time to act them out in reality.  I daydream about sewing when it’s slow at work, and look at photos online or read other sewer’s blogs.  I write long posts here when I’m not actually sewing.  I am, quite simply, obsessed.  It’s a little like being in love, isn’t it?

Tonight, when I get home, I look forward to spending more time with him, and taking a brief break from the dress.  I have a half-sewn zipper waiting for me, and a half-written blog post to go with it; both will have to wait.  But I think we all know exactly where my wandering mind will be!

3 Responses to “My torrid affair”


  1. 1 Caroline
    April 20, 2008 at 11:13 pm

    Just keep sewing, and follow your bliss.

  2. 2 glassoffashion
    April 21, 2008 at 6:08 pm

    I can totally relate to this 🙂 Especially the bit about falling asleep thinking about sewing and practicing the steps in your mind. That is EXACTLY what I do! And the sewing based surfing and the blogging…
    I’m sure your husband thinks it’s great that you’ve found something that you love doing so much…

  3. 3 3blessings
    April 21, 2008 at 10:34 pm

    Does me reading the blog mean I’m enabling you? 🙂


Leave a Reply

April 2008
M T W T F S S
    May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Blog Stats

  • 31,580 hits

