20
Apr
08

Here by popular demand

Photos of the dress in progress!  I had a few requests today to get some photos up, even if there wasn’t much to see.  This is the stage I left our dress at yesterday evening, the skirt panels sewn to each other, and the bodice sewn, but the two were not yet attached to each other.

Today, I sewed a skirt out of the chiffon nearly identical to the pieces I used for the blue skirt, but with a V shaped slit down the front.  The raw edges are finished with a rolled hem stitch, and I used the rolled edge for the seams as well, so there’s not much extra bulk.

Once the chiffon layer was finished, I pinned it to the blue skirt, lining up the seams and making sure the raw edges were all even:

The right sides of both fabrics are facing out, just like they will when the dress is finished.  I basted the two together using a long stitch, about a quarter of an inch inside the seam allowance.  I don’t want that stitching to show in the final dress.  But I didn’t want to be stuck dealing with three different layers of slippery fabric when pinning the skirt and bodice together.  With the two skirt layers attached, there was less slipping around to deal with.

With the skirts basted together, it was easy enough to pin the skirt to the bodice.  I basted this as well, and then checked to be sure I hadn’t caused any puckers before I serged this seam.  (It’s a good thing too, because one of the bodice cups was bunched awkwardly the first time).

The outer dress isn’t finished yet.  It still needs the zipper and bra cups sewn in.  But, I was able to pin it up onto my dress form for a quick photo, just so you can get a feel for the look we have in mind.  The dress isn’t draping very well in the photo – you can blame most of that on how quickly I pinned it up, and also on the fact that the top of the bodice still has extra fabric because of the seam allowance where the lining will be sewn to the outer dress.  Even so, I think you can start to see what we’re going for.

2 Responses to “Here by popular demand”


  1. 1 itsnotmurray
    April 21, 2008 at 1:26 am

    are we going to see your auntie in this soon?

  2. 2 goffcouture
    April 21, 2008 at 1:35 am

    Hopefully! It’s a few steps from being ready for a fitting but I’ll definitely take some photos when we get there. 🙂


Leave a Reply

April 2008
M T W T F S S
    May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Blog Stats

  • 31,589 hits

